FREE Keyword Search Tools
Choosing the right keywords for your blog posts is absolutely crucial in getting traffic driven to your page. Just like the street signs on a map, keywords are how people will find your page within the big Google map search engine. Just like using your GPS to navigate, Keyword search tools can make life much easier by navigating traffic right to your website’s ” front door”. I have 3 FREE magic keyword search tools that I am going to share with you, today! When used together, these 3 tools will be sure to increase your traffic flow within a very short amount of time. Let’s get started…
Google Analytics Within Webmaster Tools
If you don’t already have a Google sitemap set up for your website, I recommend you do that now. For a detailed walk through, see Setting Up & Submitting a Sitemap to Google Webmaster Tools. This is all free through Google and all you need is a Google account.
Once you have submitted a sitemap to Google’s webmaster tools, you’ll be able to follow along, here, in using analytics to see what keywords people are searching that bring them to your page.
Log into Webmaster Tools. Go to “search analytics” under “search traffic”. The Search Analytics Report shows how often your site appears in Google search results. It filters and groups data by categories such as search query, date, or device. You can use the results to improve your site’s search performance, for example:
See how your search traffic changes over time, where it’s coming from, and what search queries are most likely to show your site.
Learn which queries are made on smartphones, and use this to improve your mobile targeting.
See which pages have the highest (and lowest) click-through rate from Google search results.
This will give you a list of search queries at the bottom of the page. This is what we’re going to use to optimize our keyword choices. Review the Query list for expected keywords. If keywords that you expect to see don’t appear, your site might not have enough useful content relevant to those keywords. Find queries with high impressions (how many links to your site a user saw on Google search results) and low CTR (click through rate). These queries can help identify where you can improve your content to satisfy your user’s interests. You can add a filter to the keyword search for more specific results.
Choosing which metrics to display
The following metrics are available:
Clicks – Count of clicks from a Google search results page that landed the user on your property.
Impressions – How many links to your site a user saw on Google search results, even if the link was not scrolled into view.
CTR – Click-through rate: the click count divided by the impression count. If a row of data has no impressions, the CTR will be shown as a dash (-) because CTR would be division by zero.
Position – The average position of the topmost result from your site. So, for example, if your site has three results at positions 2, 4, and 6, the position is reported as 2. If a second query returned results at positions 3, 5, and 9, your average position would be (2 + 3)/2 = 2.5. If a row of data has no impressions, the position will be shown as a dash (-), because the position doesn’t exist.
Wealthy Affiliate Keyword Tool
The Wealthy Affiliate Keyword Tool comes free with your premium membership to WA University. For more information about Wealthy Affiliate and WA University see My Wealthy Affiliate Review. After doing your initial keyword research from your site using the Google Analytics tool, you can then, plug some of your findings into the Wealthy Affiliate Keyword Tool. This will help you to determine the best possible keywords to use that have relevancy to your article.
This tool allows you to save and store keywords for easy access when writing articles down the road. To start, you will enter a relevant phrase or word to the article you’re writing, or from the keyword you want to target from your search in Google analytics.
Review this list of results. Rule out any irrelevant results and just focus on what pertains to your article. Now, look at the results in the columns, “searches” and “competition”. The Searches column shows how many searches this keyword or phrase received in Google the previous month. The competition column shows how many websites are targeting the keyword or phrase.
When you click “view results”, you’re taken to Google and the competition number will be at the top of the page. Here, the competition for the word “keyword” is 353. That’s really high and you probably wouldn’t want to use that, alone, as your targeted keyword. The competition should, ideally, be below 150 for good results.
If you use only one keyword tool, make it Jaaxy! Jaaxy offers a FREE trial account that gives you access to 30 free searches. I recommend the free trial; you’ll soon see the value in this amazing keyword tool!
Like the Wealthy Affiliate Keyword Tool, Jaaxy also allows you to save keywords to a list. Jaaxy takes things just a step further; however, with the search results. Let’s go over the columns, here:
Keywords – this is a list of possible combinations of your keyword input
Avg – this is the average number of searches per month
Traffic – number of visits per month to your website if you rank in 1st pagerankings
QSR – Quoted Search Results – number of competing websites
KQI – Key Quality Index
RED – Not worth it
YELLOW – Medium worth
GREEN – Great worth
SEO – high ranking scores greater than 100 have a ranking on 1st page
Domains – availability of domains available according to keyword input
Related – related keywords to your keyword input
The most important columns that I focus on are the “Avg”, “QSR” and “SEO” columns. You want the average number of searches per month to be relatively high, with the SEO score greater than 100. The competing websites should be under 300 (ideally 200). You also want to make sure the keyword shown in column 1 makes sense. For example, “free keyword tools” makes more sense than “keyword tools free”.
The last column, “Brainstorm”, comes in handy if you’re still stuck coming up with a keyword or phrase suitable for your blog post. In this example I searched the keyword “Riesling Wine”, that had some unimpressive results. But, if you look over to the Brainstorm column, there’s a list of ideas for articles pertaining to Riesling Wine.
So, as you can see you have some options when it comes FREE to keyword search tools. These aren’t the only 3 options, but they are my favorite and top picks. When used together or in a combination of 2 or more, you have the dynamic trio of keyword search tools! I hope I’ve been able to provide some helpful info to take with you! I really want to see you succeed with your online business! Please leave any questions or comments below.